Epic Mochi Fail

DSC_0410

My swim instructor had mentioned that he had tried making mochi before and it didn’t turn out well. I’ve watched a good number of Japanese cooking videos and thought I might be able to pull it off. However I hate red bean with a passion so I opted for the plain sweet mochi recipe. Lets just say that it’s not as easy to master as it looks… >_>;

DSC_0411 DSC_0412 DSC_0413  DSC_0415 DSC_0416 DSC_0419 DSC_0414DSC_0420 DSC_0421 DSC_0422

The sugar didn’t fully melt into the dough and was burning even with me lowering the heat and constantly stirring it. I ended up with little blobs that were ridiculously sticky, hard to handle, grainy and just massively sweet. (2 cups of sugar to 1 cup of sweet rice flour.) Trash can…

I’m not planning on attempting this recipe again however if I see any tips or tricks I may be persuaded…

Have you ever made mochi before?

Thanks for reading!

-Anna San

One thought on “Epic Mochi Fail

  1. Pingback: Japanese Sweets | Everything Anna

Leave me some love!

